Around the ArchdioceseVocations

Celebration of candidacy

Eleven members of Deacon Formation Class XVIII were admitted as candidates on Sept. 22, 2016, by Archbishop Michael O. Jackels at St. Edward Parish, Waterloo. Candidacy is the first of several steps toward ordi­na­tion as a permanent deacon and is celebrated when it has been estab­lish­ed that the intention of those aspiring to holy orders is supported by the necessary qualifications and that the intention has achieved sufficient maturity. Three more years of diaconal formation await them before ordination. Pictured from left to right are: (front row) Dan Hurt, St. Thomas Aquinas Parish, Webster City; John Schmidt, Sacred Heart Parish, Maquoketa; David Harris, Immaculate Conception Parish, Cedar Rapids; Dan Rouse, St. Patrick Parish, Cedar Rapids; Frank Montabon, St. Thomas Aquinas Parish, Ames. (Back row) Kevin Hagarty, Immaculate Conception Parish, Gilbertville; Keith McCarraher, Basilica of St. Francis Xavier Parish, Dyersville; John Robbins, Church of the Resur­rection Parish, Dubuque; Steve Bauer, St. Matthew Parish, Cedar Rapids; Brad Kneeland, St. Edward Parish, Waterloo; Brian Zeman, St. Anthony Parish, Dubuque; Archbishop Michael O. Jackels. (Photo by Deacon Tom Lang)